Subscribe to ShelfLife

Keep in the loop with the latest news! Sign up for our monthly ShelfLife e-newsletters to learn about upcoming programs, discover unique services and explore new ideas.

Naturalist-in-Residence Programs

Embark on a journey into the natural world with Andy Weaver, former Stillwater Area High School biology and environmental science teacher. As the Naturalist-in-Residence at Stillwater and Bayport public libraries, Andy invites children (ages 8+) and their families to delve into the rich ecosystem of the St. Croix River Valley. From mid-August to early October, explore the wonders of stream biology, prairie ecology, Minnesota birds, beekeeping, and the captivating tale of Minnesota raptors and the peregrine falcon.

Naturalist Program Series:

Each naturalist program is offered twice – primarily on a Thursday and again on a Saturday. Program content is for ages 8 and older. Participation is limited to 25 attendees. Each child must have an accompanying adult, and registration is required for each person attending. Some programs will be held outdoors at an offsite location, weather permitting. If the program needs to be moved indoors to the Stillwater or Bayport libraries, participants will be contacted via the email address provided during registration. Register today to hold your spots!

Stream Biology
Thursday, August 15, 10 AM – Brown’s Creek
Saturday, August 17, 10 AM – Brown’s Creek

Prairie Ecology
Thursday, September 5, 4 PM – Valley View Park
Saturday, September 7, 10 AM – Valley View Park

MN Birds
Thursday, September 12, 4 PM – Valley View Park
Saturday, September 14, 10 AM – Valley View Park

Bee Keeping (both sessions offered on a Thursday)
Thursday, September 19, 4 PM – Stillwater Public Library
Thursday, September 26, 4 PM – Bayport Public Library

Falconry and the Peregrine Falcon Story
Thursday, October 3, 4 PM – Bayport Public Library
Saturday, October 5, 10:15 AM – Stillwater Public Library